Gendis and her addiction

IMG_0701

“Beneran, dikelilingi sepi itu candu! Coba!”
for Gendis exhibition, 2013
Mixed media on paper

At first when I was working on Gendis exhibition back on July – August 2013 this artwork is one of my non-favourite. I didn’t like the vibe but decided to exhibit it anyway (because I like that she’s doing the knitting thing in this drawing, ah, woman).

Yesterday when I go through Gendis exhibition folder for a press request, I suddenly stopped longer on this one and my heart scream “OMG, I love it!” I love it even more than my first favourite from Gendis series.

Life and the constant change. According to the changing love and favourite, I believe something has changed inside me between July 2013 – January 2014. The drawing’s vibe which I used to “not-really-like-it-but-whatever” surprisingly become my favourite. It touches me in a unexplainable way. Maybe, maybe I become the solitude junkie as her (according to the artwork title) or maybe I just admire her comfortable-happy face surrounded only by silence and yarn? I don’t really know.

But as I always said to myself, “never fight the change inside yourself, because it’s always for the better. Embrace it.”

Photo: Dito Yuwono | Who will open his solo show “The Memories of Unidentified Experience” tomorrow 10 Jan 2014 at Kedai Kebun, Yogyakarta. From what I heard it’s gonna be a beautiful show.

3 comments

  1. suka sekali sama kutipan di paragraf terakhir ini –> β€œnever fight the change inside yourself, because it’s always for the better. Embrace it.”

Leave a Reply

